Tuesday, 11 March 2008

Dreamcast.com is a Phishing Site

All of those excited Dreamcast owners who thought that they were being rewarded for their loyalty to the system are no longer excited after finding out that Dreamcast.com is no longer operated by Sega. Sega sold the domain a while back and now believes that it is being used as a phishing site, which is very unfortunate because many gamers have already submitted their e-mail addresses and console serial numbers to Dreamcast.com in expectation of some kind of reward for loyalty.

Sega recently released a statement in Japan saying that they don't own the domain and again denied that they are making a new console. Sega has urged everyone to not register at Dreamcast.com and is pressing legal action against the owners of the site. While this is great, it would have been better if Sega had come forward even sooner, seeing as many people will probably be seeing scams and spam in their inbox for quite some time.

Source: Joystick

1 View Comments:

DGN Staff - Mark said...

That's a bit sickening... What a cruel kick in the teeth to fans